Sacraments Information

What are Sacraments?

In the Catholic Church, there are seven sacraments— Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Communion, Confession, Marriage, Holy Orders, and the Anointing of the Sick. Each sacrament is a step meant to bring a member closer to living in the path to God, and increase their knowledge in their faith so that they may live a life closer to Christ. In these sacraments, we strengthen our performance in our faith, and in doing so we can act as one body, to strengthen our worship to the Heavenly Father

The first three sacraments—Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Communion—are known as the sacraments of initiation, because the rest of our life as a Christian depends on them.

The Sacrament of Baptism

Baptism cleanses the soul from any effects of Original Sin and incorporates the baptized into the Church, the Mystical Body of Christ on earth. To become Catholic, one must be baptized first in order to receive any of the other sacraments. Even Jesus was baptized in the river Jordan. 

The Sacrament of Confirmation

The Sacrament of Confirmation is the second of the three sacraments of initiation because, historically, it was administered immediately after the Sacrament of Baptism. Confirmation perfects our baptism and brings us the graces of the Holy Spirit that were granted to the Apostles on Pentecost Sunday.

The Sacrament of Holy Communion

This is the reception of Christ's Body and Blood, was historically the third of the three sacraments of initiation. This sacrament is the source of great graces that sanctify us and help us grow in the likeness of Jesus Christ.

The Sacrament of Confession

Confession was instructed to the apostles by Jesus. To confess our sins to one another, it helps us be accountable for our actions and confront our sins, so that we may move ahead and work at improving our quality of living for God. 

The Sacrament of Marriage

Marriage, a lifelong union between a man and a woman for procreation and mutual support, is a natural institution, but it is also one of the seven sacraments of the Catholic Church. It reflects the union of Jesus Christ and His Church.

The Sacrament of Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the continuation of Christ's priesthood, which He bestowed upon His Apostles. There are three levels to this sacrament: the episcopate, the priesthood, and the diaconate.

The Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick

Traditionally referred to as Extreme Unction or Last Rites, the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick is administered both to the dying and to those who are gravely ill or are about to undergo a serious operation, for the recovery of their health and for spiritual strength.

How can I preform a sacrament? 

Generally classes are available for all ages (and sacraments) that start in the fall, so that they may receive their sacrament during Easter time. Classes include Baptism, Communion, & Conformation.

For younger members, religious education classes are held for youth to help guide them through these steps, learn about the faith, and why each sacrament is important.  

For non-Catholic adults who wish to join the church to be Baptized, or Catholic adults who are needing Communion, or Conformation, the RCIA classes are available yearly.

If you are interested in performing any of these sacraments please contact the Parish Office. We would be happy to give you any further information to assist you in your journey. 

520 S Garfield St. | Kennewick, WA 99336 | 509.586.3820| fax 509.586.3558